Letter to GenderTrender from a Gay Man

Congratulations, you’re a gay man, I’m a transsexual lesbian like so many people I know. Like so many gay transmen. Sex, sexuality and gender identity are 3 different things.

GenderTrender

787a42e79748fd79b19dd859ed44417d

Left as a comment on this post:

https://gendertrender.wordpress.com/2015/08/22/exiles-in-their-own-flesh-a-psychotherapist-speaks/

Reading this makes me glad that I grew up in a time and place where such resources weren’t present. If I may tell a bit of my story to highlight why I agree with this doctor. Born male, I can only speak to my experience regarding the homosexual mtt side, so I don’t discuss the ftt side because it isn’t my place to do so.

I was a young gay kid, constantly attacked for being ‘feminine’, in a violently homophobic environment which militantly guarded classical gender roles. Eventually I learned how to play the right role and stopped getting harassed, but this was very taxing, depressing, and repulsive to me. It wore me down to such an extent that it became easier to fall for the transgender tropes than it was to accept that my situation was hopeless.

Homelessness as a young…

View original post 645 more words

  1. Leave a comment

Please feel free to leave a reply, but please do not be abusive to anyone, and please try to edit your own swearing to the absolute minimum. Comments that contain abuse to other posters or people in general will not be approved, but will be considered for approval if reposted with the offending parts removed.

