I bet TERF’s dunno whether to happy or mad at this.

Earlier today I rang a phone number after seeing some “work” advertised in a shop window (there was no clue what the work actually was). I spoke to the person, said I was calling about the job I’d seen advertised, and he asked me if it was for myself which it was, and then he told me that it’s not for in the shop, and he doesn’t hire ladies. If I’d been standing at the time then I’d have had to take a step back as I just didn’t believe what I was hearing, so without exploding at him, I asked him to repeat something he’d said, I’d said it was a bad line and I couldn’t quite make it out, but he did have a bit of a gruff bad-telephone voice, but he hung up on me. I think I caught him saying that it was selling things to people to support ex soldiers but really didn’t catch what he’d said, but this is 21st century Britain, with some exceptions ie personal care, then we’ve had equal pay and equality at the workplace since the 1970’s, or to put it another way, longer than I’ve been alive, and I turn 40 in two weeks time. Now if he’s going to have that attitude, I really don’t want to work for him anyway, but beggers can’t be choosers, and at this moment in my life, I can’t afford to be choosy. There’s jobs I’d love to do, but then there’s the reality of the situation. Now I will mention it to my advisor at the jobcentre on Wednesday, but I’m guessing he/she won’t make an issue of it, but I’m fucking shocked! I’ve been turned away from things because I’m trans, I’ve lost jobs because of it, and I can easily put that down to their ignorance and bigotry, but no one claim ignorance of sex equality laws. I know the title of this blog is a little nasty towards TERF’s maybe, but that’s honestly what I though after getting off the phone, it’s a weirdly funny situation to think that they might be cheering that I got turned down for a job for being a woman, and they’d have gotten turned for the job for being a woman too. It’s a shitty situation, and it bothers me, but if I let it get to me then it’ll really end up pissing me off and putting me in a bad mood, and that’s not going to help anyone. What I would hope, would be that someone at the jobcentre would ring the same number, and catch him in the act, as he can’t be allowed to get away with this. It’s not that I want some kind of revenge, it’s simply that no one should be able to discriminate like that.

  1. Leave a comment

Please feel free to leave a reply, but please do not be abusive to anyone, and please try to edit your own swearing to the absolute minimum. Comments that contain abuse to other posters or people in general will not be approved, but will be considered for approval if reposted with the offending parts removed.

