Woman is not a feeling

Yes, there are biological differences, no one is debating that, but no ones body is 100% male or 100% female, we are an analogue rather than a digital. How can I tell you that I’m female? I dunno, just tell you how I feel, and you’ll might feel similar or not to that. I don’t see how someone being trans can hurt other people, unless they are directly hurting other people. Someone being a vegetarian doesn’t affect me as a carnivore, unless they wanted to stop me eating meat, (I could eat meat substitute but that’s not the point).

Live and let live, and if it aint broke, it doesn’t need fixing

Hypotaxis

I went to college in the early 90s, and I was exposed to all sorts of crazy (albeit compelling) post-modern theory. It was fun to think about, even to apply – to literature, to film, sometimes to politics. But if one had told the nineteen-year-old dyke I was that someday, in the not-so-distant-future, these ideas (best engaged in the hallowed halls of academia) would be applied in very serious ways to women’s existence, lesbian’s existence, I wouldn’t have believed it.

In fact, this is exactly what has happened in the dominant culture. We have taken post-modern theory and applied it to a subjugated class (women). We say, with straight faces, “Anyone can be a woman!” We say, without stuttering, “A man is a woman if he says so.” What we then are to infer is that “woman” is a meaningless term – a concept, a malleable notion, a bit of…

View original post 906 more words

  1. #1 by Bookwyrm on May 27, 2014 - 1:50 am

    What I don’t understand is why you continue to try to engage with them. The vitriol on that site is mind-boggling; I had no idea until a blogger I usually respect linked there that people could possibly believe what those commenters claim to believe. The parallel to anti-feminist rhetoric is shocking. “Anyone can be a doctor!” We say, without stuttering, “A woman is a footballer if she says so.” I was very surprised to find alleged feminists claiming to be defined by their uterus and child-bearing abilities.
    On the other hand, with the entire group that far off the deep end, what do you think is accomplished by trying to reason with them? Why not leave them to their self-congratulatory little lovefest and try your arguments in a more neutral venue?

    • #2 by oopster74 on May 27, 2014 - 1:57 am

      You’re right of course, I should just leave to their bigotry and intolerance, it just boils my piss (to quote my cousin tish) that they spread this bullshit and people will believe them.

Please feel free to leave a reply, but please do not be abusive to anyone, and please try to edit your own swearing to the absolute minimum. Comments that contain abuse to other posters or people in general will not be approved, but will be considered for approval if reposted with the offending parts removed.

