Political Leabianism? Really?

I’ve just read (and I could only read so much) some utter bullshit about “political lesbians”. Now, my initial understanding of that phrase would be lesbians who are involved in politics, probably more so than the average person, but no, apparently a “political lesbian”, is a woman who for political reasons, refers to herself as a lesbian. Now it would seem to me, that you could only refer to yourself as x y or z, if you actually are, x y or z. You can’t choose to be x y or z if you aren’t, but apparently you can “choose” to be a lesbian, according to some. In that case, I would “choose” to have more vegetables in my diet, because they’re healthy for me, never mind the fact that I can’t stand the taste of some veg, from henceforth, I shall be a “political vegetarian”! Except I’d be kidding myself, and not being honest about who I really am. I tried going veggie a few years ago, or to phrase it another way, I stopped eating meat, (that includes both red and white meat, how someone can call themselves a vegetarian then eat fish or chicken is beyond me). I didn’t eat more veg, I ate meat substitutes like veggie burgers and Quorn, but as I was on a very low income at the time, and the smell of bacon was driving me potty, my vegetarian phase lasted about 6 months, before I gorged myself on a donner kebab, but hey, I tried, and it wasn’t for me. So, the question needs to be asked, and I will ask it and apologise in advance in advance for my choice of language.

If you don’t like minge, how can you call yourself a lesbian?

Answers on a postcard people.

, ,

  1. #1 by acetheist on November 15, 2013 - 6:20 am

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Political_lesbianism

    Went on a quick google search since I’d never heard of this label, and… yeah, apparently they (or some of them, at least) really do advocate the idea that sexual orientation is a choice.

Please feel free to leave a reply, but please do not be abusive to anyone, and please try to edit your own swearing to the absolute minimum. Comments that contain abuse to other posters or people in general will not be approved, but will be considered for approval if reposted with the offending parts removed.

